NY State AFL-CIO Announces Endorsement of Sen. Gillibrand and Endorsements in Congressional, State Senate, and Assembly Races with Primary Elections

By NYS AFL-CIO | May 14, 2024


Albany, NY Today, the 2.5 million member New York State AFL-CIO announced the endorsement of United States Senator Kirsten Gillibrand in her bid for re-election as well as endorsements of candidates running in primary races for Congress and New York State Senate and Assembly.

Mario Cilento, President of the New York State AFL-CIO said, “We make these endorsements with great confidence that these candidates have a deep understanding of the issues that matter most to working people and will fight hard to help grow the middle class.

“I know that each candidate appreciates the Union Movement’s role of fighting for better wages, benefits, and working conditions while raising the standard of living and quality of life for all workers.

“These candidates will benefit from the Union Movement’s powerful grassroots get-out-the-vote campaign that includes canvasses, phone calls, mail pieces, palm cards, texts, emails, and more to ensure a victory on election night,” Cilento said.

The remainder of the endorsements will take place at the New York State AFL-CIO Constitutional Convention in August.

Here is the list of the endorsed candidates.

Presidential Race
President Joe Biden (D)

Vice President Kamala Harris (D)

United States Senate Kirsten Gillibrand (D)

United States Congress
Congressional District 10 Dan Goldman (D)
Congressional District 22 John Mannion (D)*

New York State Senate
Senate District 50 Chris Ryan (D)
Senate District 59 Kristen Gonzalez (D)

New York State Assembly
Assembly District 18 Noah Burroughs (D)
Assembly District 34 Jessica Gonzalez-Rojas (D)
Assembly District 35 Larinda Hooks (D)
Assembly District 37 Johanna Carmona (D)
Assembly District 40 Ron Kim (D)
Assembly District 50 Emily Gallagher (D)
Assembly District 52 JoAnne Simon (D)
Assembly District 56 Stefani Zinerman (D)
Assembly District 68 Edward Gibbs (D)
Assembly District 70 Jordan Wright (D)
Assembly District 71 Al Taylor (D)
Assembly District 72 Manny De Los Santos (D)
Assembly District 77 Landon Dais (D)
Assembly District 82 Michael Benedetto (D)
Assembly District 84 Amanda Septimo (D)
Assembly District 92 MaryJane Shimsky (D)
Assembly District 103 Sarahanna Shrestha (D)
Assembly District 106 Didi Barrett (D)
Assembly District 137 Demond Meeks (D)